October 6, 2022

stickyriceles

Software Development

Indigov lands more funding to connect besieged lawmakers and their oft-frustrated constituents – TechCrunch

Twitter will now let you ‘unmention’ yourself to leave a conversation

[ad_1]

Mentions on Twitter are some thing of a double-edged sword. On a single hand, it is an straightforward way to contain a mate in a discussion or share written content with a person else. On the other hand, if someone mentions your Twitter username even once in a dialogue, you may get notifications for responses that have very little to do with you for hrs or days. In buy to resolve this issue, Twitter is introducing a new “unmention” feature.

Twitter rolls out unmention element to everybody

As Twitter’s protection group spelled out in a tweet, the unmention characteristic offers you the means to depart a conversation. To use the attribute, open the Twitter app and head to Mentions. Faucet on the 3 dots on a tweet in which your username is outlined. Now tap on the button that reads “Leave this conversation,” which will pull up a new site. The new website page points out what happens when you make your mind up to depart a dialogue on Twitter:

  • Untag your username: Your username stays, but it’ll be untagged from the authentic Tweet and all replies.
  • Quit potential mentions: Persons can not mention you once more in this discussion.
  • Stop notifications: You will not get more notifications, but can nonetheless see the dialogue.

You will have just one very last chance to back again out, or you can just ensure that you want Twitter to unmention you. As observed higher than, your username will nonetheless show up in the tweet, but it will no lengthier connection to your account. The bombardment of notifications will stop.

This is just a single way that Twitter is hoping to give users extra means to shield them selves from harassment. Final month, Twitter revealed that it experienced started out tests a attribute that prompted people to rethink Tweet replies with unsafe language. Twitter says that customers in the US who saw the prompt changed or deleted their replies above 30% of the time.

Of system, if these measures are not chopping it, you can generally delete your account.



[ad_2]

Supply link